Created with Snap
  • Latest Issue
  • Trending
  • Press
  • Videos
  • Events

Saiosh Annual Dinner and Awards Ceremony 2017

Event held at Gallagher Convention Centre, Johannesburg

This prestigious function was attended by top industry health and safety professionals from across the globe as well as representatives of the Saiosh conference sponsors - which included Dromex, Uvex, FEM, IOSH (UK) and the dinner sponsor SHE Group.

Saiosh Student of the Year

One of the Saiosh objectives is to assist health and safety practitioners in improving their knowledge and skills. Obtaining a Diploma or Degree in Occupational Safety, Health, Environmental or Risk Management is one of the avenues for members to improve their qualifications. In addition to awarding bursaries Saiosh also give a reward for members that do exceptionally well at the end of their second year studies.

The 2017 Student of the Year award went to Tatho Mamabolo

Saiosh Person of the Year

Saiosh annually give recognition to a member for outstanding work done in the field of Occupational Safety and Health.Such outstanding work may be related to the general field of Safety and Health or may be for specific work done in relation to the Institute e.g. outstanding contribution to the work of the Institute, research in the field of Occupational Safety and Health or significant contribution in the member’s workplace.

Moses Pudikabekwa received the 2017 Person of the Year award

Saiosh Wall of Fame

The Wall of Fame is the Institute’s most prestigious honour, recognizing a lifetime of commitment to workers' Safety and Health. Each Wall of Fame recipient has had a wealth of unique personal and professional achievements in the Occupational Safety and Health profession. They are leaders in the Occupational Safety and Health community.

Thelma Pugh, ex Managing Director of FEM, was presented with the Wall of Fame award. Thelma is only the second person who has been inducted into the Wall of Fame, the first person being the late Robin Jones

Recognition of Service

Saiosh past president late Robin Jones received recognition for his contribution made to the Institute. Robin practiced in the field of Occupational Health and Safety for more than 40 years. He was a founder, director, councilor and past president of Saiosh. He was a Chartered Member of Saiosh and a retired Chartered Member of IOSH.

Saiosh CEO Neels Nortjé presented Robin Jones with a certificate of recognition for his services as president of the Institute.

"Saiosh - Keeping You Informed"

Share this article with your friends
The South African Institute of Occupational Safety and Health (Saiosh) was established on the historic day when South Africa celebrated the 20th anniversary of the release of Nelson Mandela from prison on 11 February 2010 by a group of enthusiastic Occupational Health and Safety Professionals from South Africa. Saiosh is recognised by the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA) as a professional body to register Occupational Health and Safety Professionals in South Africa in terms of the NQF Act, Act 67 of 2008.